Anthotypes: Then and now

5 years ago I begun my explorations with anthotypes now due to the interest in the topic of that amazing artist and woman that is Omaira Abadia I’ve scanned them once again.

Here you can see how time has affected each one, unfortunately I was not methodical about types of papers or which vegetable I employed specifically. I can say that the ones which have endured better the pass of the time are the ones created employing Achiote -Bixa orellana- while the ones employing Beet root and Blueberries suffered the most.

To see again these pieces has been an emotional journey, when I begun working with anthotypes I thought about them (and I still do it) like metaphors of the life, of how everything will be diluted and lost in time and only memories and maybe registers will be indications that the event was even real. But to find out that some of those pieces, which were the first one of my works to be included in a book, has faded out is really emotional for me. Is like lost an old friend with the due distance.

There’s also a chance o say thank you once again to Malin Fabri.

After 5, 4 or 3 years the time has faded out some of my anthotypes.
After 5, 4 or 3 years the time has faded out some of my anthotypes.
After 5, 4 or 3 years the time has faded out some of my anthotypes.
After 5, 4 or 3 years the time has faded out some of my anthotypes.
After 5, 4 or 3 years the time has faded out some of my anthotypes.
After 5, 4 or 3 years the time has faded out some of my anthotypes.
After 5, 4 or 3 years the time has faded out some of my anthotypes.
After 5, 4 or 3 years the time has faded out some of my anthotypes.
After 5, 4 or 3 years the time has faded out some of my anthotypes.
After 5, 4 or 3 years the time has faded out some of my anthotypes.

Leave a Reply

